Sam’s Oscar Predictions

oscars 2016
These are my predictions for what I hope will win and what I predict will win at the 2016 Oscars.

Best Picture Nominees

“The Big Short”
“Bridge of Spies”
“Brooklyn”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Martian”
“The Revenant”
“Room”
“Spotlight”

What I Want to Win: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

What I Predict Will Win: “The Revenant”

Best Director

Adam McKay, “The Big Short”
George Miller, “Mad Max: Fury Road”(It would also be cool to see 70 year old George Miller win an oscar)
Alejandro González Iñárritu, “The Revenant”
Lenny Abrahamson, “Room”
Tom McCarthy, “Spotlight”

What I Want to Win: Alejandro González Iñárritu, “The Revenant”

What I Predict Will Win: Alejandro González Iñárritu, “The Revenant”

Best Actor

Bryan Cranston, “Trumbo”
Matt Damon, “The Martian” (Surprised he is even nominated)
Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Revenant”
Michael Fassbender, “Steve Jobs”
Eddie Redmayne, “The Danish Girl” (I sure do hope this guy doesn’t undeservedly win best actor two years in a row)

*(Jacob Trembly really deserved a nomination also among others)

What I Want to Win: Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Revenant”

What I Predict Will Win: Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Revenant”

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett, “Carol”
Brie Larson, “Room”
Jennifer Lawrence, “Joy”
Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”
Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

What I Want to Win: Brie Larson, “Room”

What I Predict Will Win: Cate Blanchett, “Carol”

Best Supporting Actor

Christian Bale, “The Big Short”
Tom Hardy, “The Revenant”
Mark Ruffalo, “Spotlight”
Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies”
Sylvester Stallone, “Creed”

What I Want to Win: Mark Ruffalo, “Spotlight”

What I Predict Will Win: Mark Ruffalo, “Spotlight”

Best Supporting Actress

Jennifer Jason Leigh, “The Hateful Eight”
Rooney Mara, “Carol”
Rachel McAdams, “Spotlight”
Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”
Kate Winslet, “Steve Jobs”

What I Want to Win: Jennifer Jason Leigh, “The Hateful Eight”

What I Predict Will Win: Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”

Best Original Screenplay

“Bridge of Spies”
“Ex Machina”
“Inside Out”
“Spotlight”
“Straight Outta Compton”

What I Want to Win: “Ex Machina”

What I Predict Will Win: “Spotlight”

Best Adapted Screenplay

“The Big Short”
“Brooklyn”
“Carol”
“The Martian”
“Room”

What I Want to Win: “Room”

What I Predict Will Win: “Room”

Best Foreign Film

“Embrace of the Serpent”
“Mustang”
“Saul”
“Theeb”
“A War”

What I Want to Win: “Son of Saul”

What I Predict Will Win: “Son of Saul”

 Best Documentary Feature

“Amy”
“Cartel Land”
“The Look of Silence”

“What Happened, Miss Simone?”
“Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom”

What I Want to Win: “What Happened, Miss Simone?”

What I Predict Will Win: “The Look of Silence”

Best Animated

“Anomalisa”
“Boy and the World”
“Inside Out”
“Shaun the Sheep Movie”
“When Marnie Was There”

What I Want to Win: “Anomalisa”

What I Predict Will Win: “Inside Out”

Best Film Editing

“The Big Short”

“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Revenant”
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

What I Want to Win: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

What I Predict Will Win: “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Song

“Fifty Shades of Grey”
“Racing Extinction”
“Spectre”
“The Hunting Ground”
“Youth”

What I Want to Win: “Youth”

What I Predict Will Win: “

Best Original Score

“Bridge of Spies”
“Carol”
“The Hateful Eight”
“Sicario”
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

What I Want to Win: “The Hateful Eight”

What I Predict Will Win: “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Digital Efffects

“Ex Machina”
“The Martian”
“The Revenant”
“Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

What I Want to Win: “Ex Machina”

What I Predict Will Win: “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

Best Cinematography

“Carol”
“The Hateful Eight”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Revenant”
“Sicario”

What I Want to Win: “The Revenant”

What I Predict Will Win: “The Revenant”

Best Costume

“Carol”
“Cinderella”
“The Danish Girl”
“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The Revenant”

What I Want to Win: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

What I Predict Will Win: “The Danish Girl”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

“Mad Max: Fury Road”
“The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared”
“The Revenant”

What I Want to Win: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

What I Predict Will Win: “The Revenant”

Leave a Reply

