Hats and stuffed animals Inspired by Seuss

This year’s spring musical for the Newfound area of New Hampshire was “Seussical the Musical”. Like the past few years I helped out with costumes and props and offered to help with merchandise for the shows.

I love how wacky and colorful Dr. Seuss’ characters are so I decided, rather than making “normal” sized hats to make tiny hats on headbands, otherwise known as fascinators. I gathered scrap pieces of fabric left over from various costumes and combine them to make some super funky head gear.

Cat in the Hat inspired fascinator

I also made miniature Cat in the Hat, hats. I wasn’t sure how well my little hats would go over with the Newfound crowd. But, I should have known not to doubt my work. Almost all of my fascinator stock was gone before the show even started. My display was looking pretty empty, and at 5 minutes into intermission I was sold out. When the crowd headed back into the theater to enjoy the second half, I packed up and hightailed it home. I frantically cut, sewed and hot glued for the next  16-hours to refill my stock before the matinee. Then, ran home again, between the matinee and evening show to whip up more. It was a crazy two days to say the least.

Seussical the Musical combines a bunch of Seuss stories including “Yertle the Turtle“, “Gertrude McFuzz“, “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” and more. “Horton Hears a Who” and “Horton Hatches an Egg” figure prominently in the play and I made the little flying baby Horton for the stage.

baby horton hatches an egg

I also made a few more inspired by Seuss stuffed animals.

Gertrude McFuzz inspired blue bird
Inspired by Gertrude McFuzz
Tuxedo Cat (1) inspired by The Cat in the Hat
Tuxedo Cat (1) inspired by The Cat in the Hat
Tuxedo Cat (2) inspired by The Cat in the Hat
Tuxedo Cat (2) inspired by The Cat in the Hat
Kangaroos inspired by Dr. Seuss
Kangaroos inspired by Dr. Seuss

The mom of the girl who played the little sour kangaroo asked me to make her two kangaroos. I asked the costumer what the kangaroos were wearing in the play. When she told me purple and sparkly I knew I had the perfect fabric.

I searched through my fabric stash and found this half-yard piece of purple, sequined fabric I’d had for about 10-years. I have no idea where it came from but knew I’d find a use for it someday. Strangely enough, this was the same exact fabric used in the dresses for the play. How weird is that?!? Below are the kangaroo girls from the play holding the handmade versions of their character. The little baby kangaroo is a finger puppet.

Kelly and Paige who played the sour kangaroos in Seussical the Musical holding the custom made purple kangaroo ad finger puppet
Kelly and Paige who played the sour kangaroos in Seussical the Musical show off the purple kangaroo ad finger puppet
Leave a Reply

