The Dark Night Rises (Spoiler FREE review)

First I have to say that I am not a big fan of the title. We had “The Dark Night”, and now “The Dark Night Rises”. That sounds like there are only two of them, seeing as the first movie didn’t have Dark Night in the title. People call this the Dark Night trilogy, but that is just inaccurate.I will start with a quick word about the first two Nolan Batman movies. I did not care for Batman Begins.  The Dark Night Was a much better film than the first one. all around. Better (or at least more fresh) story, better characters, better villain, better action, and better, pretty much everything.

The Dark Night was hailed by some as the greatest movie ever made, and while I feel that is a huge overstatement, I do really like the movie. To be honest it took me a few viewings to really enjoy the movie, the first time I saw it I didn’t see what everyone was making such a big deal about. But then I saw it at Smitty’s Cinema where they played it for free one day.

Seeing it on the big screen, (at a time where I wasn’t half asleep for once), made me enjoy the movie much more than previously. That is not the first Nolan film that I had to see more than once to really enjoy, but more on that in a different post.

Finally I’ll talk about the Dark Night Rises. Christian Bale has really come into the role of Batman. He took a lot of getting used to, but after 3 films I can now say that he is great in the role. Batman is a great hero, and a great hero needs a great villain.

In Batman Begins, it was Scarecrow, who was … let’s say under utilized. In the Dark Night we had the Joker, who was great, best part of the movie, and also Two Face.

Aaron Eckhart as Two-Face in The Dark KnightI was extremely disappointed by Two Face. Harvey Dent turns into Two Face, and I thought Harvey Dent was handled well, but I just thought that there wasn’t enough of him actually as Two Face. He does a few things, kills a few people, and then dies. Not much happens with him.

Two face is actually my favorite Batman villain. I know I’m in the minority, most games, shows, and movies use him as only a small side villain. In the Dark Night Rises we have Bane as the main villain, played by Tom Hardy.

The Dark Knight Rises Bane banner
The Dark Knight Rises Bane banner (Photo credit: marvelousRoland)

Everyone has talked about his voice. His voice is a little surprising at first. The way it sounds catches you off guard. But after hearing him talk for a while, you get used to it, and personally, liked it. There is an effect applied over his voice as well, but that wasn’t what I found to be surprising. The character of Bane is interesting. He is extremely powerful, but also smart. I had heard that Bane was the worst thing to happen to Gotham city. Which I did not believe when I heard. I didn’t think he could be any worse than the Joker. But…he can, let’s just leave it at that.

Cat Woman is played by Anne Hathaway. I like many others, thought that she would be horrible for the role. After seeing it I must say that I was wrong. She WASN’T horrible. I don’t think she was that great either, but hey, she got the job done, and there isn’t really anything to complain about.

I had heard that Alfred, played by Michael Cain, had a very small part in the movie. It is true that his character is gone for a large portion of the movie, but I think he has a bigger role in the beginning of the movie, than he did in either of the previous films.

Morgan Freeman is back as Fox. He is good as always. If anyone had a smaller role, I would say it was him.

Jim Gordon is back of course. I think they found the perfect actor to play him. Gary Oldman is perfect for the role.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Photo credit: Gage Skidmore)

A new addition is Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Blake. He is a rising star, who will definitely be one of the biggest stars of his time. He is good as always, and his character is interesting.

So this is the end of the Nolan Batman trilogy. I like the ending for the trilogy, very fitting and has good closure.

There are a few questions that arise from the movie mostly from Marion Cotillard‘s character, but the answers aren’t really needed. English: Marion Cotillard photographed by Stud...

My favorite of the trilogy is between The Dark Night and The Dark Night Rises. I think I’m going to give it to … The Dark Night. But my opinion might change. The Joker is mostly what pushes me towards The Dark Night, but you know what NO, I think I prefer The Dark Night Rises, for one major difference over The Dark Night. It has much better pacing. The Dark Night had very uneven pacing, and some parts that could be completely cut from the film. The Dark Knight Rises WINS.

Leave a Reply

