Ray Bradbury’s ‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’ lives forever

Something Wicked This Way Comes


I was in the middle of reading ‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’ for the umptieth time when I learned of Ray Bradbury‘s passing this past Tuesday. But, just as “Mr. Electro” told a 12-year-old Bradbury to “Live Forever“, his work will live forever in our hearts and minds, spawning new generations of readers and lovers of his writing ever day.

The last week of 8th grade waaaay back in 1983 the school was “treated” with two movies in the auditorium on the big screen. The first was  ‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’ and the second was ‘Raiders of the Lost Ark’. Both were thrilling and unlike any movies I’d ever seen before. But, it wasn’t the melting faces from ‘Raiders’ that haunted me, but the imagery, the music, the freaky clowns, the eerie energy from ‘Something Wicked’ that jumped off the screen and scorched onto my brain.

We were all packed into that muggy auditorium, shoulder to shoulder but I had goosebumps I just couldn’t shake. As soon as the bell rang I raced over to the library and checked out the only copy they had of  the Ray Bradbury book. It was a small, hard cover book that had seen better days. It had been lost amongst all the newer volumes and because of its small size had been pushed to the back of the stacks. I read that book front to back in one sitting, I couldn’t tear myself away. Then I read it again, and again. As many times as I could before it was due.

Something Wicked This Way Comes Pam Grier as the Dust Witch with Jason Robards

I’ve read the book and watched the movie many more times since that early summer day. I’ve shared it with my son who, after finding out Pam Grier of Quentin Tarantino‘s ‘Jackie Brown was the Dust Witch in ‘Something Wicked’ liked the movie even more.

Over the years I’ve read many other Ray Bradbury stories. Even with his amazing body of work, ‘Farenheit 451’ still comes in second, a close second, but second nonetheless to ‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’.

Photo of Ray Bradbury.
Photo of Ray Bradbury. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Learn more about Ray Bradbury from this article I wrote for The Examiner:   Ray Bradbury, the prolific author of almost 50 books and 600 short stories as well as numerous poems, essays, operas, plays, teleplays and screenplays died peacefully on June 5th after a lengthy illness. In a statement written by publisher HarperCollins “In a career spanning more than 70 years, Ray Bradbury has inspired generations of readers to dream, think and create. Bradbury was one of the most celebrated writers of our time.” continue

 

Leave a Reply

