Haunted by the Theremin from Midsomer Murders

I love watching Midsomer Murders, but I really need to stop watching it right before bed. I find even after I turn off the show the theremin music haunts me, playing in my head, following me from room to room. It’s not the blood, gore or the horrifying ways they find to kill off people. It’s that hypnotizing, haunting melody that really freaks me out.

Don’t know what a theremin is? It’s the only instrument you can play without actually touching in.

I came across Midsomer Murders one day while looking for a new series to check out on Netflix. It was love at first site.  Each episode is around an hour and half, sometimes more. So, each one is more like a movie than a tv show.

Midsomer Murders is a British detective show based on the books by Caroline Graham featuring Detective Barnaby.

These stories were originally adapted by Anthony Horowitz, the author of the extremely popular Alex Rider series. I love this article he wrote for The Daily Mail where he talks about his involvement with Midsomer Murders ~ “According to Bentley Productions, which makes the series, these number 200 murders, 11 accidental deaths, ten suicides and six natural deaths. And I must plead guilty to at least a dozen of them.” He also happens to be one of Sam’s favorite authors making it a double bonus to watch the episodes he wrote the screenplays for.

Midsommer Murders
Until 2011 the lead character DCI Tom Barnaby  was played by John Nettles. Anthony Horowitz actually penned Nettles last episode.

Each story revolves around Barnaby’s efforts to solve the far too many murders that take place in the fictional English county of Midsomer. He is always aided in his efforts by a Sergeant. My favorite was DS Gavin Troy played by Daniel Casey. I had really hoped he would hook up with Cully and stay on the show but he got a promotion and moved on. He and Cully only shared one kiss, that we saw anyway. (wink, wink). I also really like DS Ben Jones played by Jason Hughes. He is seriously cute and still on the show.

I loved seeing the relationship between Barnaby and his wife Joyce played by Jane Wymark and their daughter Cully played by Laura Howard. The show isn’t just about solving murders but the relationship between family members and how Barnaby is when he’s off the clock.

The show has some laugh out load moments, it can be touching and tender, sometimes completely shocking and there is some nudity as well.

When Nettles’s character Tom Barnaby left the show his younger cousin John Barnaby, played by Neil Dudgeon, came to replace him.

The stories are fantastic, the acting superb and the settings gorgeous. But, my favorite part of watching this series is spotting actors from other movies and shows that I love appearing in episodes. It’s like seeing an old friend and not being able to wipe the smile from your face.

    • Jessica Hynes, at the 2008 Comic-Con Spaced panel.
      Jessica Hynes, at the 2008 Comic-Con Spaced panel. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

      Jessica Hynes who I loved inSpaced  and “Shaun of the Dead”  was in the very first episode.

    •  Orlando Bloom of “Pirates of the Caribbean” and “Lord of the Ring” fame appeared in Season 3 Episode 3 “Judgement Day”. He does get murdered, but you can check out his oh so adorable naked butt before he does.
    • Several actors from my favorite movie “Hot Fuzz  appeared in the series including; David Bradley who played the farmer with all the guns in his barn. (He was also Filch in Harry Potter.) Paul Freeman played the reverend, Olivia Coleman played PC Doris “What makes you think it was muuurrr-ddeeerrr” Thatcher, Anne Reid who played Leslie Tiller the flower shop owner, Kenneth Cranham who played the farmer Mr. Reaper, Ron Cook whose mansion didn’t fit in with the town’s rustic esthetic,and Lucy Punch who played Eve Draper with the annoying laugh. There may have been more but those were the ones I remember noticing.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. My Uncle ocassionally played the Theremin with the Cleveland Symphony back in the 1950’s. He used to let me play it when I took my piano lessons. Most science fiction movies from that time used it for weird sound effects,

    Like

Leave a Reply

