Hobo With A Shotgun ~ Review with Spoilers by Sam

Hobo With a Shotgun is a movie I was looking forward to seeing for a long time. It started as a fake trailer that ended up winning the grindhouse trailer contest. As part of the reward for winning the contest the trailer was turned into an actual movie.

I was really excited when I saw the first real trailer with Rutger Hauer as the hobo. I loved the style of grindhouse the grainy film and missing reels, go with the excessive violence perfectly. Hobo With a Shotgun definitely has the crazy violence and gore, but only seems to have the grain in the first minute or so. Sort of how Machete was only the full grindhouse experience for the first 5 minutes. Not that big of deal, but still disappointing.


The movie opens in a predictable but great way, riding in on the train into the city. This city is completely horrible. Think of any movie where there is a horrible city, that is just completely evil. The city in this movie is probably 10x worse than your pick. The city is run by this man named Drake and his 2 sons Ivan and Slick. They run the city, kill people for fun and have all the police controlled. There are some honest people left in the city, but most are completely evil. The city is just amazing to watch. You’ll see people getting murdered, beaten, raped, and otherwise maimed. One thing I really liked was the snow. I know that sounds stupid but hear me out. In the movie there are just little tiny snowflakes falling, there are no mounds of snow on the ground, the snow falls like its real and I haven’t really seen that before.

Rutger Hauer is great as the hobo and the other protagonist is great too. The character development is outstanding which really surprised me. Which makes it worse when the characters get hurt. And they do get hurt, a lot. The girl gets it worst of all. In a scene which I could vividly describe but I won’t. I’m not squeamish at all and extremely violent movies don’t faze me…….usually. This one part made me feel like I was going to throw up. It happens to the girl and it wouldn’t be nearly as bad if it wasn’t for the character you feel for them and want them to succeed. If you’ve seen the movie and are wondering what part it is, it involves her arm.

The main villains are horrible, I can’t stand people who have no value for human life, and just do horribly things to people for fun and amusement. They use these two guys called the Plague. I want to see a movie just about them because they are awesome. I think they may be from a comic book or something because of things that seem like a tribute to it.

“Spoiler”

They kill off the hobo. I expected a trilogy. He dies in sort of a Mexican standoff with like 50 people. He dies to save the girl and help the city.

In case you’re wondering how he gets the shotgun, he earns money by going to this guy who films bum fights. He was going to use the money to buy a lawnmower, weird I know but they explain it. He ends buying the shotgun to save some people. The movie is extremely gory but not in a good way. What I mean by that is that the movie doesn’t use it right. I think the director didn’t know how to utilize the gore element.

The movie is deeper than you’d think. There is a lot of symbolism like the hobo being a bear. By far the biggest problem with the movie is that it is too serious. The movie shouldn’t be serious at all. It should be completely overtop and outrageous, and in some ways it is. But not in the right way. It doesn’t make all the bloodshed and gore enjoyable and fun, instead its just kind of sad. I was going to give the give the movie a pretty good rating but the ending segment that included that “moment” ruined it for me. I would have to say I didn’t really like it all.

There are good parts like the headline “Hobo stops begging Demands Change”. But overall not a poorly made movie by any means but just not as enjoyable as it could have been keeping its roots with grindhouse.

2 thoughts on “Hobo With A Shotgun ~ Review with Spoilers by Sam

Leave a Reply

