Amy Lyn Loves Good Reads!

Library Book Sale Haul
Image by Mr. Ducke via Flickr

I was very excited to come across the Good Reads website and started using it immediately! I am constantly reading both for research and for fun.This site is great for tracking what I’ve read and want to read and best of all getting recommendations and finding something new.

One of  my favorite new fiction books is “Crooked Letter Crooked Letter” by Tom Franklin recommended by a fellow Good Reads user. This was a book I didn’t want to put down but at the same time I didn’t want it to end.

My bookshelves are filled to overflowing. But, this eco-friendly girl very rarely visits a book store. When buying books I always buy used. Now, your typical yard sale and flea market will have boxes of dog eared paperbacks usually of the romantic nature. That’s really not my scene.

For me, it’s all about the library book sales.  There you can find hard cover books that would easily cost $20 or more for a fraction of the cost. The most I’ve ever spent on a single book at one of these sales was $3 for a HUGE hard cover quilting book.

But, my favorite time is the end of the day. I’ve been to several of these sales where they just want to get rid of their old books and will charge $1 for a paper bag or a cardboard box to fill with as many books as you can.

I visit the library at least once a week for books and movies. Seriously, you can not beat free.  But, although most libraries are free to use, they are not free to maintain. So, I always have supported my local library by volunteering, and donating auction items, participating in raffles, etc. It feels good to give back and be green.

Leave a Reply

